Our New Provincial Office
15 Toronto Street, 8th Floor
Toronto, Ontario M5C 2E3

Medical First Responder vs First Aid Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

StJohnOnline.ca / CadetsOnline.ca » Active Discussions - All Members » Medical First Responder vs First Aid « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

J
Username: Scottishmuppet

Post Number: 1
Posted on Monday, July 11, 2011 - 01:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, I have read through a number of threads relating to this topic and how it affects daily duties such as simple terminology to signage, uniform and vehicles.

I have a couple of comments and questions which I hope may give some clarity, ideas and so on.

My background is in both business marketing/brand management and EMS and has been in three continents including various St John jurisdictions. So I make my comments and suggestions, not necessarily from my own ideas, but in some cases from other agencies or St John priories and business cases outside of the EMS world.

1. Medical First Responder vs First Aid

As a term, SJA UK introduced this as a way of moving away from first aid because of the mindset many people have in that it appears very amateur where as many SJA members are trained to higher levels MFR, Nurse, Doctor, Paramedic, to name a few.

First Aid has been shown, in and out of SJA, to cause problems with both recruiting or retaining higher skilled individuals (a field trauma doctor doesn't want a label that says first aid) and also with EMS who may look down on first aiders.

Much of this is perception however in areas such as SJA Canada, there is little known by the public about what we do, same goes for many EMS services. We cannot rely on current SJA promotions to correct this as they have done in other jurisdictions such as Australia, New Zealand, UK.