Professional ranks Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

StJohnOnline.ca / CadetsOnline.ca » Active Discussions - Youth Focus » Discussion Archive » Professional ranks « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Robert McKay
Username: Mckayrob

Post Number: 1
Posted on Tuesday, June 29, 2004 - 12:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I know there are ranks for MD's and RN's, but are there any other designations/ranks for other healthcare professionals? I am a Respiratory Therapist (RRT). RT's take a three year college program and are provincially regulated, just like nurses. RT's work in the hospital and in the homecare enviroment and deal with patients who have breathing problems and many other injuries/illnesses.

Michael Lawrence, RN
Username: Spud

Post Number: 44
Posted on Tuesday, June 29, 2004 - 04:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Robert,

this has been a topic discussed in the past (you can search through the archives... I don't remember the exact heading though). There are two roles within patient care units that are designated to be held by a medical doctor and by a registered nurse (divisional medical officer, and divisional nursing officer). You can look up their responsibilities on this website by going to the section that contains online manuals and resources, and then looking at the Brigade General Regulations.