Our New Provincial Office
15 Toronto Street, 8th Floor
Toronto, Ontario M5C 2E3

Starting a new unit tips Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

StJohnOnline.ca / CadetsOnline.ca » Active Discussions - Youth Focus » Starting a new unit tips « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dimitri Papadopoulos
Username: Papadopoulos

Post Number: 1
Posted on Sunday, December 18, 2011 - 09:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi All,

I've been recently appointed the Regional Youth Coordinator for the Region of Laval, Lanaudiere, Laurentide in Quebec (a region in the Greater Montreal Area).

The issue is that the SJA Youth Program in Quebec has been totally extinct since about 2004. So the challenge I'm facing is to begin by resurrecting the program in our region. (easier said than done). :-)

I'm relatively new in SJA, but I do have a respectable amount of experience with Sea and Air Cadets, both as a cadet and officer.

My priority is currently to recruit SJA Cadet Leaders in order to start recruiting cadets. But since all adults I approached are not familiar with the youth program (and that we don't have any youth candidates to begin with) it's very difficult to convince them to get involved. Add to that, that the program is not up yet.

I will greatly appreciate any start-up tips. I would also appreciate a visit to an Ontario youth unit, close to the Quebec border (perhaps around the Cornwall, ON area).

Thank you in advance,

Dimitri Papadopoulos
Regional coordinator -- Youth
Region 6.1, Laval.Laurentide.Lanaudière

(Message edited by Papadopoulos on December 18, 2011)

(Message edited by Papadopoulos on December 18, 2011)

Hal Rowan
Username: Hrowan

Post Number: 188
Posted on Monday, December 19, 2011 - 10:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)